Michael W Smith previews new Christmas album, tour, ‘Sovereign’ and family | Dispatch Interviews

Michael W Smith previews new Christmas album, tour, ‘Sovereign’ and family

Thirty years in the music business and Michael W Smith is still cranking out music, three albums this year alone. Talking with Dispatch Radio, Michael previews his new Christmas album: Michael W Smith & Friends: The Spirit of Christmas – AVAILABLE IN STORES NOW!

Michael-W-Smith-and-Friends-_The-spirit-of-Christmas_-350x350“This is the most unique and unusual record I’ve ever done in my 31-year career. The entire record was sequenced together before we recorded one song,”  Smith says in the press release, but elaborates on during the interview, talking about how the idea was formed and how blessed he feels.

“It’s my favorite time of the year,” he says.

Sovereign, the Michael W Smith album, is already seling strong and has Michael on tour. He discusses how the powerful song “Sovereign Over Us” developed and the impact on this new album.

Michael has won the awards, sold the albums, so here he discusses why he carries on, talking about the tour, busy schedule and breaking away for family.

Check out the full interview below.

For a full list of tour dates, and ticket information, visit michaelwsmith.com/tour.

Michael W. Smith & Friends: The Spirit of Christmas
1. The Miracle of Christmas
2. It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year
3. Happy Holidays/Holiday Season
4. Christmas Time Is Here (feat. Vince Gill)
5. White Christmas (feat. Lady Antebellum)
6. Somewhere In My Memory
7. The Spirit of Christmas (Deck the Halls, Good King Wenceslas, O Little Town of Bethlehem, Feels Like Christmas, O Come All Ye Faithful)
8. Silent Night (feat. Little Big Town)
9. What Child Is This (feat. Martina McBride)
10. Almost There (feat. Amy Grant)
11. All Is Well (feat. Carrie Underwood)
12. Christmas Day (feat. Jennifer Nettles)
13. The Darkest Midnight (Spoken Word by Bono)
14. Peace (with Special Guest Michael McDonald)


(Note: the interview was recorded on 9/29 – the album was made available on 9/30/14)

Dispatch-Radio-Logo smaller

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Comment


— required *

— required *